Thakur replaces Patel in India’s T20 squad

Fast bowler Shardul Thakur has replaced allrounder Axar Patel in India’s 15-man squad for the Twenty20 World Cup.

Patel, who bowls left-arm spin, will be now among the three stand-by players with Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar.

Despite Patel’s exclusion, India still has four spinners in their squad -Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy.

Thakur, who could also come in handy as a lower order batsman, has picked up 18 wickets in the Indian Premier League for this year’s finalists Chennai Super Kings.

Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mahmmed Shami are the other fast bowlers.

India are in Group 2 of the Super 12 stage with Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan.

Two more teams will join the group after the qualifiers end in Oman on October 22. India will open their campaign against Pakistan on October 24 in Dubai.

News Makanany

/ /